1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Shell changing

Discussion in 'Shells' started by shortcrab71, Aug 22, 2009.

1. shortcrab71

shortcrab71 "Never Molted"

As you know I am new to all of this.  I have 3 crabs all have purple pinchers.  I live in Myrtle Beach and went to a shell store and bought each crab 3 new shells. Put them in the habitat thinking they would change shells.  Not a single one of them has done so.  Is there something I am doing wrong.  Please let me know.  I am starting to get worried.

Thank you,
    Renee  :hermzpoo:

2. Mini.Mrs.Crabs

Mini.Mrs.Crabs "Preparing For Second Molt"

Did you boil the shells before putting them in the tank?
    Even if you did and they don't change shells, maybe the crabs are simply happy with the shell they're in. If they are happy there is no reason to change shells. I have some VERY picky crabs that I had for almost a year now and have never changed shells, and others that change once or twice a month (wich is pretty often for me).

3. shortcrab71

I did boil the shells before I put them in the tank.  Thank you for the information. 
    I guess it's like having a child for the first time.  You are going to worry about them.
    Renee  :hermzpoo:

4. emmac350

emmac350 "Fourth Molt In Progress"