1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Salt for Ecuadorians?

Discussion in 'Foods, Treats & Home Recipes.' started by cpcmember2000, Oct 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cpcmember2000

cpcmember2000 Hi, I'm New Here!

I am new to hermit crabs and read that the ecuadorian ones (which I will be getting shortly) need salt. Is it possible to give them a salt/mineral block and spray it every day?

2. SuperMom

SuperMom "First Molt In Progress"

Hi cpcmember2000, welcome to the HCRU glad to have ya here.
    [​IMG]not to sure about a salt/mineral blocks. yes E's(ecuadorians) do need salt water along with fresh water. I use Doc. Welfish aquariam salt. You can also use ocean salt and there are a few others out there. It's only a couple of $. But, All speices of hermit crabs benifit from salt water, but E's, Ruggies, Cavipe's, Indo's, and Strawberries have to have it to survive. No matter what speice you have you need to offer declorinated salt water and fresh declorinated water. :Her

3. Eric

Eric "First Molt, A Success"