1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

not a new crabber, but new to here

Discussion in 'The Welcome Rock' started by foreverwilbur, Aug 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. foreverwilbur

foreverwilbur Hi, I'm New Here!

I'm from Chicago Illinois and I've been crabbing now for 2 years.

A bit about my crabbing ways...

Crabitat:
    As a substrate, I use play sand mixed with saltwater to prevent mold, though I’ve never had a problem. I have gravel in my food/water area and recently I’ve added slate rock under my water dishes. They have a second level of Hiawatha moss, again mixed with saltwater and zapped in the microwave. They have a hidey cave and other climbing/hiding things, but mostly they hide in the moss all day and run around at night. Right now they have a mangrove sapling in a glass vase they're destroying too.

Diet:
    I rotate between several commercial foods. I use Gardner’s, Crab Island and Hikari. I have some food mixes from the hermit crab addiction store too. They get fresh fruits and veggies whenever I’ve got them. I have some frozen fish foods and baby food they enjoy. When their food dish is refilled, they get a dusting of cuttlebone powder. I’ve also got the hermit crab shovel and pail crunchers I give them a day or two a week because they poo blue everywhere otherwise! A cuttlebone chunk is always in the tank for crunching on. They also munch on maple bark about once a week. They have both fresh and saltwater dishes. I could go on about diet quite awhile; they’re very spoiled in that respect.

Shells:
    I generally keep 4 extra shells per crab. They all choose the same kind just to confuse me. Lately the fashion is fox shells.

Temps/Humidity: