1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

newbie crabbie caretaker

Discussion in 'The Welcome Rock' started by firewench, Apr 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. firewench

firewench Guest

Salutations. I am new to the site, courtesy referral of my dear pal Pete MacK. I am the happy companion of two lovely small purple claws. They travel on assignment with me. Some of the places I have been assigned are Virginia, Wyoming, New York & Louisiana. I am a travelling Firefighter/Paramedic. We recieve our snail mail in Colorado, where my hubby stays home & cares for all our other non-crabbies; Reptiles, rodents, rabbits, chickens, horses, dogs, cats....Looking forward to getting to be an even better hermie mommie by way of this community. Not much of a post-er, though, may not actually hear from me unsolicited. (I know, Pete's gonna think that's odd considering my offline personality...)
    :banana:

2. vckums

vckums Moderator

:welcome: to the site. Chime in when you want to.

How long have you had the crabs? How are they during travel, it's very interesting to know. Alot of people ask how ot move them when they are moving to another house/state.

3. HERMEZ

HERMEZ Moderator

:madhouse: I hope you can learn lots here while having fun :hermez:

Yes how do you maintain heat/humidity while traveling? I am curious to hear...I am moving myself soon and have ideas lined up

4. firewench

firewench Guest

I've had them a little over a year now. They've had 5 successful molts so far.
    I have either a 2 1/2 gal aquarium, complete with toys & substrate, food & water removed for the trip, replaced at hotel if overnight drive: Or, I have placed them in a moist papertowel inside a ziplock; Or, a tiny little tupperware w/substrate. Either way, I have a littel travel kit w/sea salt, food dishes, LOTS of extra shells, food & an undertank heater, thermometers, water conditioner...