1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New crabber and a question

Discussion in 'The Welcome Rock' started by lbanimals, Feb 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lbanimals

lbanimals Hi, I'm New Here!

Hello, I'm new to the crab world...lured there by Ms. Piccalo herself and all of her stories and pictures of her rescues.

I bought 4 small hermit crabs yesterday, have them in a heated 10 gallon, humidity/temperature good, sand and coco fiber mixed, regular water and salt water, new shells, etc.

My question is that one of the crabs, the most active rambunctious of them all (Brew), was eating for what seemed like hours. In the food bowl when I woke up and five hours later was still in there. When I checked on him during that time he was nearly always in the food dish although every so often he would wander off and rest in the corner and then come back to the food dish.

At one point, one of the other crabs was at the same small food dish and the active guy was planted right on it and the other had to stay right at the edge.

Do crabs guard food? The active guy was making eating gestures every time I checked him out, but he was literally there for five hours.

I've been prowling the boards for a few days now, so I thought I would just jump in head first.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give.

2. pblove

pblove (Micro Crab)

First I would like to say hello and welcome here lbanimals! [​IMG]
    Not knowing what this poor little baby has been through, it is quite possible he is eating and eating to fill up.
    He might also be in dire need of a molt and since he now has access to food and water, getting ready.
    I got a new crab about 5 weeeks ago, he stayed in the food dish overnight, went back and forth from food to water. By morning, he dug under to start his molt.