1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help deciding on substrate

Discussion in 'General questions about care.' started by imported_Mermaid, Oct 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. imported_Mermaid

imported_Mermaid Hi, I'm New Here!

I'm replacing my crabs substrate this weekend because I have mites. I'm an amateur crabber and need some help. I've been using EE and was wondering how you deal with crab poop if you can't see it? Since I can't tell it apart from the substrate, is it bad for it to be in there?

Also, I'm thinking of using sand this time for this reason. Will it stress my crabs out if I suddenly go from EE to sand? They bury a lot and I only see them out for about an hour per day.

2. scoobdoo

scoobdoo "PM Jason For Custom Title"

well i just switched from e.e. to sand because of a HAVE TO situation. i had little flying bugs that were getting big!
    i don't know if they were gnats from fruit or bugs from bark i didn't get killed off. i have used both e .e. and sand on and off for 3 yrs, they tend to poop in one spot if it's left alone. cholla wood from hobby lobby was one of my crabs fave spots, i took it out and went to wash it out and it was full of it! if they are perching on anything, i bet if you move it you'll find poop! you can see it on the e.e. if you look real close.
    if you have mites, you'll want to make sure your tank is super cleaned out before you put stuff back, i would ditch anything that can't be boiled or baked, find the section that deals with mites or bugs.. your crabs will prob need to be treated. i don't know how to do this i never delt with this, you can p.m. jelly bean or one of the others.. good luck!!! my crabs don't give a crud if they have sand or e.e. they don't dig until they have to molt

3. timebandit

timebandit (Large Crab)