1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My favorite Crab tips!

Discussion in 'Discussions, Theories and Trial Ideas' started by Mama Crabs, Jun 29, 2010.

1. Mama Crabs

Mama Crabs "Preparing For Second Molt"

I'm pretty new at crabbing, but I've read a ton of posts and have come across a lot of great tips, some of them from you all! I thought it would be fun to share some of my favorite tips then you can list yours.

Here I go....

Using zip ties to hold stuff up--love it!

Using a pill box (the kind with each day of the week) to cut up fresh food like fruits, vegs and meats to freeze. Then when I want to pull out some tri tip, I just open one small square, pop out the food and thaw. Works so great and helps me take advantage of all the scraps without feeding the crabs the same food everyday. I got 2 trays at Target, each holds 2 weeks of food.

Getting rid of sponges. I'm so glad I have other ways to boost humidity without having to clean a sponge everyday and worry about the bacteria.

Using vinegar to clean tough spots on glass--works perfectly!

Use aquarium glue to seal off any metal tips found in plastic plants. I didn't know they were even there until I saw this tip and sure enough a little metal was poking through on some plants.

My bubblers are the best, it helped solve my humidity issues for the most part.

I love the jacuzzis for water dishes, they look cool in the tank and I love seeing the crabs hang out on the rock edges during the day. I just wish I didn't put sand under them.

Corner bath caddies are a huge hit, great place for moss and shells. I now have 3 caddies up.

I was told to buy gallon jugs of distilled water and to treat one with salt. This has been a big help in managing and storing my water.

I love my vines, so much fun to design pathways and watch the crabs climb about.