1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is he ok?

Discussion in 'Molting.' started by nene, Jul 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nene

nene Hi, I'm New Here!

i'm new to taking care of hermies, and my newest that i just got about two weeks ago, sheldon, was very active the first week, but now, all he does is bury himself in the sand all day and all night. i've seen him out once and that was two days ago, and it was only for a couple of seconds. ould something be wrong with him. could he be sick, or depressed? or molting? and if he is molting, how do i find out and take care of him? [​IMG]

2. crazeecrabber103

crazeecrabber103 (Small Crab)

New crabs can be very energetic for the first few days because they are exploring their new home and trying to find places to hide. But after they settle in, they slow down and become inactive (which can be very stressful for the owner!). What they're doing is destressing and trying to recover from their difficult journey that they went through to get to you.
    When a crab is molting, he just needs to be left alone. Other than that there isn't much you can do.
    If a crab is in late pre-molt stages, however, he'll need extra calcium and protein to make sure his exoskeleton stays strong and hardens up nicely when he's finished.

3. nene

nene Hi, I'm New Here!