1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to calibrate your humidity gauge

Discussion in 'General questions about care.' started by vckums, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. Hermies4Ever

    Hermies4Ever (Large Crab)

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine.
    This thread was (and still is) a very helpful one!!! Thank you for creating it, Vckums!!!
     
  2. cloie74

    cloie74 "Second Molt, A Success"

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just an FYI because everyone asks me about this gauge ..
    This is what I use to save me the time and energy about worrying about analog gauges..
    you can get it at walmart for $6.47
    [​IMG]
     
  3. vckums

    vckums Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,461
    Likes Received:
    0

    Next time I calibrate I will try to remember to take pics. If anyone else remembers whenthey do it I would appreciate the pics.:D
     
  4. vampressqueen

    vampressqueen Hi, I'm New Here!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodbury, NJ
    does it need to be calibratedx?
     
  5. vckums

    vckums Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,461
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, the digital ones don't
     
  6. vampressqueen

    vampressqueen Hi, I'm New Here!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodbury, NJ
    "SPRINGFIELD
    PreciseTemp"

    i just bought 1 last nite. how accurite is it? Rob saw on package somwhere-i didn't see it- that it might be off by + or - 5%. Is that a big deal?
    I'm learning all this new stuff that i didn't know before.
    love the internet.
     
  7. emmac350

    emmac350 "Fourth Molt In Progress"

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE AL
    +/- 5% isn't too bad, although you may want to calibrate it just to know whether it's off by + or by -. So if you see 80% you won't freak out if it's reading high, but if you see 70% you won't freak if it's reading low. You know, just to know which way it's off.
     
  8. vampressqueen

    vampressqueen Hi, I'm New Here!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodbury, NJ
    calibrate it even tho its digital?
     
  9. emmac350

    emmac350 "Fourth Molt In Progress"

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE AL
    I've done it to mine; I like knowing exactly where the readings are. Just be careful not to get the humidity sensor wet - I accidentally did that to mine yesterday while wetting down the coconut fiber and it now reads 99% all the time. :(
     
  10. Mckenny

    Mckenny "PM Jason For Custom Title"

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridge, Maryland
    I've had those as well, and I calibrate mine too. I have found that they are off but only by a little, and after calibration, I add or subtract degree's accordingly.
     
  11. vampressqueen

    vampressqueen Hi, I'm New Here!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodbury, NJ
    how do you know wheere the humidity sensor is since its digital?
     
  12. cloie74

    cloie74 "Second Molt, A Success"

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine is off by 1 degree. The sensor is inside. I think Emma means dont submerge it in water like dropping it in a water dish by accident lol.
    Mine gets wet when I mist and it seems pretty resilient so dont worry about a few drops of water.
     
  13. cococrisp

    cococrisp "PM Jason For Custom Title"

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I have the same kind but I accidentally ripped off the temp sensor while trying to get those suction cups off.:rolleyes: Mine don't have a problem with getting wet when I mist either. Nor do My analog ones.
     
  14. vampressqueen

    vampressqueen Hi, I'm New Here!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodbury, NJ
    do you sit it in the bottom of cage or clip it to top?
     
  15. cococrisp

    cococrisp "PM Jason For Custom Title"

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    You put it right above where the crabs can reach. You can use some glue or tape but if you use glue (Unless aquarium sealant) than you want to put it above where the crabs can reach. You want to get the reading of what they are feeling. Often the humidity is higher on the bottom than on the top.
     
  16. vampressqueen

    vampressqueen Hi, I'm New Here!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodbury, NJ
    ok. thx
    i'll use tape
     

Share This Page