1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to calibrate your humidity gauge

Discussion in 'General questions about care.' started by vckums, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. vckums

    vckums Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,461
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's a cheap digital one you can get from Walmart in the plant section. It's about $6 and it's worked great( I have it). I bought a $30 at Petco once. When adding water to the substrate one day I manages to pour water onto the digital guage. BAD. It died and I wasted $30.
     
  2. CoolDoggy10

    CoolDoggy10 (Large Crab)

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    nice vicki!
     
  3. vckums

    vckums Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,461
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm kewl like that LOL
     
  4. Laughs O Lot

    Laughs O Lot (JUMBO CRAB)

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    LOL! :D Good job Vicki!
    Why do you think it went from 7% off to 3% off? Maybe it was because I used a different cap. Exactly how much salt do you use?

    This is my 1,000 post! Whoohoo! :D
     
  5. Roach

    Roach "Preparing For First Molt"

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just wanted to add that I have seen a couple different sites that said the salt test does work for the digital hygrometers. Its all basically the same thing just some directions tell you to use more water or salt. I have tried it with my digital and dial one and it seems to be about right. My digital was off 2% both times and my dial one was off 7% the first and 8% the next, So i think it works about the same.


    Edit: I just wanted to add that I got the digital one from walmart in the plant section. Its callled Acurite. I'm not sure if that is the one vicki said about or not.
     
  6. Laughs O Lot

    Laughs O Lot (JUMBO CRAB)

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    I think I got the same one as you.
     
  7. crabalicious

    crabalicious "Preparing For First Molt"

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX

    Super thanks for this info. I would not have thought to look at the plant section, and probably would have wasted the $30. It would be nice to be able to have gauges in every one of my ISO's.
     
  8. hulyan

    hulyan Hi, I'm New Here!

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jersey City, NJ
    How much water should be placed into the salt?
     
  9. vckums

    vckums Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,461
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a few drops. You want it moist.
     
  10. HermitPaws

    HermitPaws "Fourth Molt, A Success"

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centennial,colorado
    ummm Vivki, how do you Change the reading if there is no screw on the back or sides??? i have the Basic Pecto Brand.
     
  11. emmac350

    emmac350 "Fourth Molt In Progress"

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE AL
    You can't. You just have to remember how far off the gauge was (i.e. mine reads about 15% too low) and adjust the reading by that much every time you check it. It's a pain, but it's the only option.
     
  12. RoxyLupin

    RoxyLupin (Micro Crab)

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm useing a little cheep combo from Petsmart, it didn't give any warnings on the salt test... -_- and I dont see any little screws but I'm going to try the salt test over night...
     
  13. cloie74

    cloie74 "Second Molt, A Success"

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just an FYI on this topic for everyone...I also have the cheapo analog humidity gauge from Petco like it seems many of us have,
    I had NO IDEA that it could possibly be wrong!! I was wondering why my humidity would never go above 50 no matter what I did so I found this calibration thing and I tried it out,.
    WELL...I put the salt in the cap dropped a few drops of water and sealed it up, I kept checking on it about once an hour, I did the test for 6 hours and it NEVER went past 55. So therefore my tank was always about where it should be (75) and I almost killed my crabs by adding more humidity!!!
    Just to test the theory even further I got the cheapo digital one from Walmart and my tank is 79 on the nose for humidity!
    stupid cheap thing from Petco, I am writing them and giving them a piece of my mind!!! :mad:
     
  14. Laughs O Lot

    Laughs O Lot (JUMBO CRAB)

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    I tried callibrating my zoo med gauge, but I don't understand how! I was twisting the thingy, but no matter which way I turned it, it went the wrong way. Now the arrow is pointing somewhere that doesn't even have any numbers. :rolleyes: Any suggestions?
     
  15. cloie74

    cloie74 "Second Molt, A Success"

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    0
    save yourself the trouble go to Walmart and spend $6 on the digital one lol I am not sure some of them can be fixed at all. I know mine can't I just have to remember it is 20 degrees off.
     
  16. Laughs O Lot

    Laughs O Lot (JUMBO CRAB)

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Lol I do have a digital one, actually! I just wanted another one for my ISO. :p
     
  17. manolo578

    manolo578 (Micro Crab)

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh so if water gets in, it will read wrong. Also, do thermomters need calibrating becuase mine is always at 75 degrees but I always have a heat source.
     
  18. manolo578

    manolo578 (Micro Crab)

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    and what brand is this digital one from walmart?
     
  19. Mckenny

    Mckenny "PM Jason For Custom Title"

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridge, Maryland
    SPRINGFIELD
    PreciseTemp

    It's white with three gray buttons off to the side. Look in the hardware section and the temperature gages are in there somewhere. :)
     
  20. createbad

    createbad "Never Molted"

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    georgia
    could you add pictures to this or a video cause the instructions are kinda of confusing... im kinda of a visual learner lol
     

Share This Page