1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hi. I'm new to this. questions about a product...

Discussion in 'Product Reviews.' started by Hollytoledo, Sep 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hollytoledo

Hollytoledo Hi, I'm New Here!

Hi! I've had 4 hermit crabs for just about two or three months now. I really wanna give these guys a healthy habitat but I keep running into little issues. Here's the current issue: I had a great piece of driftwood in my crabitat which they would climb all over and under, but it began to grow mold in the places that were submerged in the substrate. So I bought a different climbing aparatus that i thought would work really well. It's a painted plaster thing that is sold for aquariums. I also added a fake plant for them to crawl around in.
    1) I am beginning to wonder if the paint on this thing is toxic to the crabs, cuz I have read that the paint they use on the shells can be.
    2) Since I added these new things (and I also changed the forest bedding) there's a WIERD smell in the tank. It smells unnatural- kind of plasticky or rubbery, so I'm assuming it's either the plant or the plaster thing. Is this a dangerous thing for them to be breathing?
    3) Before reading around in different forums, I never thought to sterilize anything before placing it in the crabitat. All I did was rinse them with hot water. So what might happen now that I've stuck things in there without boiling them? and what other alternatives are there to boiling them?
    Please help, I'm scared i'm gonna kill my crabs!

2. Hollytoledo

:l