1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi I am a newbie...some questions.

Discussion in 'The Welcome Rock' started by LSHermies, Jan 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LSHermies

LSHermies (Micro Crab)

We have what I believe to be 6 PP. Some are lighter than the others but have blueish/purple to their pincher.
    I cared for a hermit crab while I worked at a daycare for over a year 16 years ago. We cared for him while his mom lived at her parents and did not have room. Poor guy only had his tank, sand and cotton and dried shrimp. I do not know how he lived now that I have done some research.

We started with crabs on Dec 8th. We had 4 die on us with in a day or so. We were able to return them and our crabbies seem to be doing well. 4 have changed from their awful painted shells.

I have one that changed several times a day for 2 weeks. He was making me crazy. I feared he might die. Our crabs are all about the same size, we have about 10 shells for them. I think they all have decided to stay in the shells now. One that has not changed keeps checking the shells out but I he is pretty small and in one of those oblong type openings. I can not find one here small enough for him. I purchased some on-line yesterday. I hope I got the right size.

My kids are loving them. I am quite addicted...lol So far I know 3 are males..the ones I have seen switch. Everyone gets along great.
    I have sand in my tank. I had eco and sand mix but it smelt musty and got rid of it. I prefer the sand. I did put a container with the eco earth and they are not interested. I might use that as a pool for them instead.

I feed them fresh fruits and veggies, honey and baby foods...and a home made food. My home made food consists of oats, rice, shrimp, krill, spirulina, cuttlebone, and sea salt all blended in my husbands coffee grinder...lol