1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hey guys, New to the CRAB scene!

Discussion in 'The Welcome Rock' started by Solley, Dec 28, 2009.

1. Solley

Solley (Micro Crab)

Hey guys hows it goin?

So im kinda new to the hermit crab scene and i hate to say it, Im kinda addicted now.  I guess its not a bad thing haha.

anyways i first got a hermit crab from wining it at a fair i went to when i was about 14, sadly it passed and i got a couple more recently.  Im 19 now :rockon:.

I got to admit, i really didn't know that hermit crabs needed so much stuff!  Needless to say, i feel bad for not really taking care of these pets earlier so i kicked it into gear and finished making up a "legit" crabitat!

here it is:
    (i have 2 hermits as of now, both PP, one is obvious and the other one is in the turtle shell, BOSS and Turdie are their names)

[img=400x266]http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b2/katanaweapon/IMG_3537.jpg[/img]
    [img=400x266]http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b2/katanaweapon/IMG_3542.jpg[/img]

I still got a little more work to do on the crabitat.  This set up is a new one i just set up, bigger than my previous set up.  My only problem seems to be getting the humidity right! right now temp is at around 72F and my humidity in the tank is right around 60% which i know is still too low.  However im in the dead of winter right now and the humidity in my room is 30 right now, so i guess its not too bad considering the difference haha.  any idea of how to get my humidity right?  I constantly misted my previous crabitat to the point where it would form condensation on the inside and make the sand, sand castle consistency.  But god every time i opened the lid it would stink like crazy a fishy/musty smell!  I don't want to keep this one as wet as the last one because of that.  any help or ideas?