1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help!!! Please

Discussion in 'Molting.' started by rhino, Apr 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rhino

rhino Hi, I'm New Here!

I am very new to hermit crabs we have 4. We just purchased them at a store called earthbound very good place to buy them around here. I am working on the aquarium for them so for now I have them in 2 diffrent terriarum boxes with sand and water and toys etc, this is not going to be their permanent home hopefully only until this weekend anyway we got 2 of them about 4 nights ago and one of them had already switched shells yesterday morning but today when I got to looking I cannot find blueberry in the new shell or in any of the other shells I have for them should I go digging for blueberry I do not even see her anywhere or could she be molting? Do the come complety out of the shell when they molt? Please help I am not sure what to do?

2. Jason

Jason Moderator

It is never a good thing when you can not find one, but all shells are accounted for. By chance do you have shells that are a lot bigger? I have heard of crabs using larger shells to molt if they are not able to dig down.

Jason

3. Crabbybeach

Crabbybeach (Medium Crab)

Well my crab is able to dig down and he chose a very large shell when he wanted to change shells. There were alot smaller ones in the tank.

4. justine

justine "Never Molted"

To Rhino,
    They do not need to come out of their shells to molt. I have never seen a crab do that, although maybe someone else has.
    Generally, when they are completely out of their shell it is a sign of distress.