1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP please! Molting problem

Discussion in 'Emergency Care - 911.' started by acaciadragon, Sep 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acaciadragon

acaciadragon Hi, I'm New Here!

I am new to hermit crabs and last night my son was screaming that his hermit crab was out of his shell and just laying there. Well, I just assumed he was dead and we were all terribly sad. I put him outside in the woods. My son was very attached to him and wanted to keep his shell and put it up somewhere so I went to wash the shell out and he was in there!!!!! All white (in color) A HUGE shock to us. It was molt I put out in the woods, not his body as I had thought. I have now read that they are supposed to eat there molt but I can't find it... will he be ok? PLEASE let me know anything I can do.

2. Lightning Yoshi

Lightning Yoshi (Micro Crab)

somtimes ive read that they dont have to eat there shell like the owner finds the skin and throws it out and they are just fine please correct me if im wrong. i think that they dont have to eat it.

3. Mallie

Mallie "Preparing For First Molt"

The reason they eat it is becuase it is an incredible source of neutrients.

They dont HAVE to eat it, but you need to supply LOTS of calcium to him. Keep him calm and quiet.

Also, if you could please fill out :

How long have you had the crab(s) in question?

Do you know what species they are?

Did you/Do you isolate new crabs?

Tank Size:

Lid Type:

Placement of tank in your home:

Substrate Used (moist or dry & depth):

Type of Gauges: Strip/Analog/Digital

Did you test your humidity gauge for accuracy?

Placement of Gauges:

Temperature and Humidity levels in your tank: Degrees %

Heating Source (if UTH how much of the tank does it cover and how much substrate is over it):

Lighting Source (type bulbs & wattage):

Do you have at least one area for each crab to hide?