1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help please!! I'm new at this

Discussion in 'Foods, Treats & Home Recipes.' started by Crabfan09, Jan 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Crabfan09

Crabfan09 Hi, I'm New Here!

So I never gave any thought to having a hermit crab as a pet but I was over at my aunts house and she goes, " You want a hermit crab?" of course I said yes I love getting new pets! but she told me he never came out of his shell so I took him home but I didn't have a tank!!!! so I improvised, I had hamsters in the past but I eventually (thankfully:p) sold the little monsters, I then cleaned their cage with water and vinegar. it was a wire cage with a plastic bottom. To my surprise he started climbing up the wire walls!!! he, according to my aunt, never came out of his shell! but then he quickly withdrew back into his shell after a couple of days. so I knew this wasn't right. so I did some research and cleaned a ten gallon tank I had from the past and put some sand in it with easy access to both dechlorinated salt and fresh water with half of a clamshell for a food dish. I have a lid and I've been heating it with a heat lamp. But to get to the point...I've fed him spinach leaves cauliflower leaves smashed banana but he just won't come out. Is there any way I could cheer him up...and as far as the food goes do you guys have any preparation tips:confused:? any answers will be greatly appreciated!!! thanks!

2. MrCrab

MrCrab Hi, I'm New Here!

Well, don't wash the tank with anything other than dechlorinated water (etc spring bottled water will work) with the food read the safe food list on this website.

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 22, 2009
  3. krackersmom2

krackersmom2 (Large Crab)