1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello

Discussion in 'The Welcome Rock' started by hermy123, May 28, 2006.

1. hermy123

hermy123 Guest

Hi my name is Cody and I have 4 purple pincher  hermit crabs I think, and I'm new to them.Their names are spongebob, Mr. Krabs, plankton, squidward. I have them in a plastic tank only temporary until I get enough money to get a bigger tank and more sand. I have some questions I know this might sound bad but do the pinches hurt from a hermit crab. I mean does it break the skin? oh and also how can you tell how old they are? they are small so I hope that is enough information unless you want me to take pictures of them. Well its really nice to finally find this forum it looks like a good website. Well I got to go bye. ;D

2. vckums

vckums Moderator

Hi Cody! A pinch from them can hurt, but they do it only out of fear. We like pictures here so share away!

3. hermy123

hermy123 Guest

How do you hold them without making them afraid? But the pinch doesn't break the skin?

4. vckums

vckums Moderator

It can break skin, but that's usually with hermit crabs that are on the big side. You could try wearing some thick gloves. Make sure though that you dont drop them, so maybe sitting on some carpet would be good. If you want to handle them, try it slowly. Few minutes and work your way up. Some owners handle thier crabs and other don't.

5. amber

amber Guest

i handled mine only when i had to or when showing them off... sometimes they will be aggressive towards eachother and to break up the fight i would pull one out and set him in a dish by himself for a few then put him back in, or just pick him up and place him somewhere else in the tank... if you pick them up around the opening of the shell then they seem the most comfortable...

6. hermy123

hermy123 Guest