1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello! I'm a crab newb. Any tips?

Discussion in 'The Welcome Rock' started by mrcrabs, Jan 20, 2011.

1. mrcrabs

mrcrabs Hi, I'm New Here!

Hi everyone.  My name is mrcrabs and I'm a crabaholic!

My daughter came home with her classroom hermies several weeks ago.  She was very excited and so was her little brother.  In a "last resort" effort of trying to get them to behave one day  :)  I told them that they could get their very own hermit crabs.  Off to the pet store we go.  We came home with a guaranteed death sentence for the two crabs:  a plastic critter carrier kit.  I had no idea and the fine folks at Petco must not have either.  That or they didn't care.  Unfortunately, one of the crabs died about a week later. 

I started doing my research and quickly discovered they never had a chance with the kit the store sold me.  I was about to purchase a 10 gallon tank when it dawned on me that I had a 38 gallon in my attic!  I have spent the last week cleaning that tank, ordering supplies, visiting just about every pet store in town, searching Lowes and Home Depot for the best sand, a couple of trips to Michaels craft store (I've been there more in the past week than my wife as been in a couple years), drying wet eco earth, etc.    :madhouse: