1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello I am new to crabs!

Discussion in 'The Welcome Rock' started by Jessica, Sep 1, 2011.

1. Jessica

Jessica "Never Molted"

Hello Everyone!

My name is Jessica and I have been reading all of the wonderful information here and decided I had to join! I'm new to crab keeping so a site like this is the best thing since slice bread  :rockon:

I have 2 crabs that were pond off on me by friend of my mothers, she bought them at the State Fair and just didn't know better. I just want to make it clear that I do not like impulse pets but these guys obviously needed my help. They were being kept in a cricket keeper with about 1/2 inch of sand and 1 little fake palm tree. Sooo I had and still have a lot of work to do to get these guys in a proper habitat. I keep chameleons so I had alot of stuff laying around to use until I can buy more.

They are now in a 63 liter see through sterlite container with 5-6 inches of sand. They have a gradient of tempature on side is 74 degrees f then it gets warmer on the opposite side which runs 76-78 degrees f. Humidity stays between 70 and 80 %. I have a seawater bowl and a fresh water bowl, a couple make shift caves I made from cutting a plastic cup and a small plant pot. I have added shells, a little pot with a soil/sand mix moist enough to tunnel in. I don't have netting yet so I used hardware cloth. I hope I am doing right by them and plan on adding more to their little home. Please if you see anything that I can do to make it better let me know!

I make alot of fresh food to gutload insects so I these guys have been eating fresh food. Tonight shrimp satueed in EVOO is on the menu  :woohoo:

I am super excited to be a part of this crabby community!

2. marleyfish

marleyfish "First Molt In Progress"