1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello from upstate NY

Discussion in 'The Welcome Rock' started by Heather, Sep 5, 2007.

1. Heather

Heather Guest

Hello all. This seems like such a friendly an knowledgable place. I am sure I will learn a ton here.I have been keeping hermies for about two months now. I have seven small to medium PP's in a 20 gallon high tank with several levels. I have their care down pretty well but sometimes issues are coming up that I am getting stumped on.I have a few questions I hope you can help me with.

1- substrate. I started out using coconut bedding.(i forget which brand now) The crabbies loved it and burried themselves in it a lot. However I started getting a mold problem and cleaned it out and went to playsand. I made a huge mistake and bought the quickcrete brand and just now realized it is not good. (also the crabs hate it and spend no time on it) I need to replace all the substrate today and am not sure which way to go. I can't find regular playsand as it is the wrong time of year and no one is stocking it anymore(lowes, home depot, toys r us) I liked the coconut bedding but am worried about mold and also it seems like the stuff always stuck to the crabs legs. I don't know if it bothered them but it really annoyed me.We have a local aquarium store , if I go there is there a good brand of sand to look for?  I am confused!!!!! :BangHead:

2- ISO tanks. If I set up an ISO tank for molts does it usually hold the conditions well if it is not in use. I guess I am wondering if I set it up and it sits- well ,will it be nasty to use when the time comes or should I just have the tank and supplies on standby.Do most of you use an ISO tank or just let them do their thing in the main tank?
    Thank you all for any help!-Heather

2. vckums

vckums Moderator

:welcome: