1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do Hermit Crabs enjoy touch?

Discussion in 'The Welcome Rock' started by Joycemarie, Nov 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Joycemarie

Joycemarie Hi, I'm New Here!

:confused: Hi, I am new to the Hermit Crab world and have found myself totally enchanted by these little creatures. I can hand feed four of the six I own. I also can pet the tops of their heads which they really seem to enjoy. Sometimes too, I rub their legs, do Hermit Crabs like being touched, do they enjoy being touched? Thanks, Joycemarie:confused:

2. reader101

reader101 Banned

Welcome! That's an interesting subject, depending on who you talk to! Some have a total hands-off approach, whereas I enjoy the opposite - my hermies are totally comfortable being handled, and since they can't regulate their own body temp., I thoroughly believe they love the warmth of your hand! Stroking of the shell with shy fellows will help relax them to become comfortable with being handled for cleaning, etc. without stress.
    I'd love to discuss handling techniques with you!

3. crazy4crabs

crazy4crabs "Second Molt In Progress"

some of my crabs like to be handled others dont. its all up to you and your crabs.

4. vckums

vckums Moderator

I'm hands off with mine. Only time I handle them is when I do deep cleans. My reasoning is, they aren't touched in the wild. Im more for a natural habitat for them as much as I can do.

5. reader101

reader101 Banned

Joycemarie - are you still with us?

6. msdiamonddawg

msdiamonddawg "Third Molt In Progress"