1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Crab with missing/deformed eye

Discussion in 'General questions about care.' started by sitali, Aug 29, 2010.

1. sitali

sitali Hi, I'm New Here!

I am new to the world of hermit crabs. My first two crabs came from my daughter in college who had them for about a week after they were given to her in a small kritter keeper with about 1/2 inch of sand in it. She gave them to me to care for properly and I got them set up in a 10 gallon tank with everything necessary (thanks to all the info on this site and others). The day after I set up their tank, one of the crabs buried and stayed down about 2 weeks. When she came up I took the opportunity to take a look at her while she was active and I was moving a couple things in the tank. I noticed first that her "feet" seemed very scratchy, which I read might mean that she molted while she was down there? The second thing I noticed was that she appeared to have two eye stalks but only one eye. I imagine if she went down that quickly after having a suitable substrate she must have been pretty desperate to molt. I took these pictures today... does it look to you like there is something wrong with her right eye? It looks a bit shiny on the end like an eye, but when you look at her straight on there is a marked difference between the two eyes. Other than the eye she looks good, I think. Will the eye regenerate with another molt in the future? Or is she likely to always have a deformed eye? Doesn't seem to slow her down, but I'm curious.
    [img=400x330]http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e283/maxwell301/IMG_5718-1.jpg[/img]

2. n00b

n00b "Preparing For First Molt"

I have a crab with this exact problem.  I adopted him recently from an ad on craigslist.