1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Changing Shells Frequently

Discussion in 'Shells' started by krystie, Nov 2, 2008.

1. krystie

krystie Hi, I'm New Here!

Hey there everybody (my first post here)

Well I am just getting into crabbing and have set up my crabitat!

I'm in australia so I will give you the timeline of events in Australian time.

Last saturday afternoon I went to the pet store and came home with 3 crabs - they are about medium size??? I got one of the plastic small tank things (as pet shops do *rolls eyes*) but because i had done my research; i knew it'd make a good iso tank so bought it anyways. Despite of all this; i did have my thermometer and hydrometer in there and over that 12 hour period my humidity and temp were perfect :p

The next day I went off and bought my sand substrate (pet shop gave me wood shavings - as they do) and a new 2 foot tank. Added my sand, my water dishes, my food into the new tank). Except while I was at the markets getting the tank I fell in love with another crab - a purple pincher :p so he went and joined his new friends in the new tank. They were instantly at home and having a whale of a time together. I also got some driftwood and put that in for them.

Monday came 15 new shells (i did have some before but not as many) and a hut, some trees, a piece of netting along the wall some cuttlefish and a giant scallop (name?) for bathing.

They had such an awesome week together getting to know each other and their new crabitat.

This past weekend just gone I have added 8 more shells and 3 new friends :p and given the crabitat a bit of renovation for practicality.

However, although they seem very happy (they love their toys; they love each other), i have had my purple pincher have shell changes and I don't mean one or two as new shells have been introduced: I mean ALOT!!!!