1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Buried crab

Discussion in 'General questions about care.' started by Donna M, Dec 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Donna M

Donna M "First Molt, A Success"

I'm a newbie and I have a medium-sized crab (named "Buddy"), that has been buried for over 3 months. I don't know how he stays alive because I never see him near the food dishes or even the water dishes. When he was the only crab I had, I kept track of the food, and it never moved or disappeared, so I know he's not eating food. Can he be eating mulch to stay alive?

Sometimes it seems to me that his deep red color is changing, but other times not. Wouldn't his color change because he's not getting proper nutrition? After 3 months of being buried, can I assume he's not thinking about molting?

The substrate is the "Cypress Mulch" that they sell in the pet store specifically for hermit crabs. Sometimes I mix in calcium sand or play sand.

I know they say not to dig him up, but sometimes I have to in order to clean the tank, change the substrate, etc. I bought him a friend over a month ago, ("Shorty"), who's he's totally ignored. Then I had them on a towel in the sink and Buddy started chasing the new guy and started rocking his shell. Buddy was being pretty aggresive and now I'm afraid he's going to hurt Shorty, though they're about the same size.

I could use some advice. Can a crab go 3 months without eating? It's really worrying me.

Thanks!
    Donna M

2. Chuck_Norris

Chuck_Norris "Preparing For Second Molt"