1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Brand New Hermie Mommie~~sum questions

Discussion in 'The Welcome Rock' started by CrabbyOne_07, Aug 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CrabbyOne_07

CrabbyOne_07 Guest

Hi to ALL!! I'm new to this whole hermit crab thing, but i'm so in love with it. I'm trying to learn as much as possible so that I succeed in giving my hermies the best home possible. I do have some questions...so here goes:
    1. Which is the best to put for the bottom of the tank? I was going to put sand, from what I've read so far sand is the most popular & easiest to deal with...is that a good choice? Right now the bottom of the aquarium has fish rocks...I'm going hermit crab shopping this weekend (saturday)...will they be ok until then on those lil rocks?

2. Do I really need to get all these thermometers & heating devices? I live in Louisiana so it's pretty much warm like 10 months out the 12 months over here & my AC is never any lower than 75 during the day or night.

3. As far as salt water goes for the hermit crabs, I do have an extra shell for water...but how do I know how many little salt crystals to put for just the lil bit of water in the shell?? Do I really need to mix a whole gallon to get the right amount of salt in the water for them or can i just throw a couple little crystals in the shell??

4. Do I really need at least a 10 gallon aquarium for 3 hermit crabs?? Right now they are in a 5 gallon.

5. Names...I'm stumped on names, I like unique names. I have named one so far but the other 2 need names, any suggestions?

6. I have the little hermit crab carrier that I bought for them while we were in Florida, can I later use that as my iso are for them when needed and for new crabs?