1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A post-molting question...

Discussion in 'Molting.' started by CJ, Feb 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CJ

CJ "First Molt In Progress"

[​IMG]

Now that Mo is up from his molt, does he look healthy to those of you with trained eyes? (as best you can tell from my picture taking skills [​IMG])

Should I be watching for any "post-molt" signs of stress or poor health? I have no experience with what a healthy newly-molted hermie should look like up close and personal, since Mo is my first one. I was so excited he made it through the molt and was alive that I never thought to ask what I should know about after he surfaced.
    I looked to see he had all of his legs, eyes, antennae, that both pinchers worked, that his exo was hardening and that he was eating and drinking. In a past post I was given excellent information on food to provide from Julia Crab's posts. Anything else to be aware of?

I give those of you with many hermies so much credit!

Thanks for your help! [​IMG] cj

2. SuperMom

SuperMom "First Molt In Progress"

You just need to give him time to rest and his color may start looking better in a few more days/weeks. In the pic he looks fine and alert. Is he moving and acting OK?

BTW he is very cute....

3. CJ

Hi, Tricia! [​IMG]

Thanks for your reply! [​IMG] Here is an update.

Mo has been down under the substrate each day since he came up from his molt late on the 14th. Is this the resting you are speaking of? In the late evenings he comes up, eats, drinks, and hops into the pool. He is quite active and curious. He will walk right onto my hand, seems happy to say hello and likes to explore. He is quite the climber and he's pretty fast!

His color is getting better now, one week after this molt. His legs are slowly turning a reddish color.
    [​IMG]