1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1st ever humidity gauge! confused!

Discussion in 'General questions about care.' started by cluelesscrabber, Apr 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cluelesscrabber

    cluelesscrabber (Micro Crab)

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Good old NJ!
    I am a bit confused on how to read my strip humidity gauge. How do i read it?

    thanks [​IMG]
     
  2. moire_eel

    moire_eel "Second Molt, A Success"

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I've actually never seen one! Unfortunately, I have heard that these are not super accurate. I'm not sure if or how you'd calibrate it.
     
  3. cluelesscrabber

    cluelesscrabber (Micro Crab)

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Good old NJ!
    Me niether. I'd assume you would put it in a humid area to see if it reads correctly, but i can't read it so i guess i can't test it or calibrate it...
     
  4. Becca

    Becca (Small Crab)

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    They MAKE strip gauges for humidity? My universe has been torn apart.
     
  5. cluelesscrabber

    cluelesscrabber (Micro Crab)

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Good old NJ!
    erm, what do you mean? i dont understand [​IMG]
     
  6. Becca

    Becca (Small Crab)

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    I had no idea you could get humidity gauges on strips. I just knew you could get thermometers like that. I've only seen digital and analog ones.
     
  7. cluelesscrabber

    cluelesscrabber (Micro Crab)

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Good old NJ!
    ohhhhhhhhhhhhh lol ^_^

    I still can't figure out how to read it...
     
  8. crazeecrabber103

    crazeecrabber103 (Small Crab)

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Those things are supposed to be really inaccurate(I mean, reading 60% when the sides of the tank are fogged up and condensation is dripping of the lid!),so I'd get a digital one ASAP. The really good ones that you can order online, like the ever so popular TOM digital is a wee bit expensive, but worth it(at least that's what I've heard.).I am using a Fluker's myself. It's pretty accurate, and I'm happy with it(for now!LOL).I found both of mine at my lps, and it was about $20.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page